Quick answer: Ads inside ChatGPT are real and running. OpenAI began testing them in the United States on 9 February 2026 and now says ChatGPT Ads are live in more than 40 countries. But as of 19 September 2026, Malaysia is not on OpenAI’s published list of countries where self-service Ads Manager is available, and neither is any other Southeast Asian country. The legal entity that advertises and gets billed must be based in a listed country, so a Malaysian-registered company can create an advertiser account but cannot use it until Malaysia is added.
Reach is a separate question. Malaysia does appear on published lists of locations ChatGPT campaigns can target, so an advertiser in an available country can already reach Malaysian users. We could not confirm that from OpenAI’s own geo catalogue, which sits behind a login.
Two paid AI surfaces are open to Malaysian advertisers now, both automatic: Google’s AI Overviews and Microsoft Copilot. Perplexity stopped accepting new advertisers in October 2025 and exited in-chat ads in February 2026.
What actually exists inside ChatGPT
|
Date |
What OpenAI announced |
Source |
|
January 2026 |
Advertising principles published ahead of any launch: answer independence, conversation privacy, choice and control |
openai.com, “Our approach to advertising and expanding access to ChatGPT” |
|
9 February 2026 |
Ads begin testing in the US for logged-in adults on the Free and Go tiers |
openai.com, “Testing ads in ChatGPT” |
|
26 March 2026 |
Expansion beyond the US announced, starting with Canada, Australia and New Zealand |
Same post, update note |
|
6 May 2026 |
Beta self-serve Ads Manager opens, CPC bidding added alongside CPM, pixel and Conversions API launched |
openai.com, “New ways to buy ChatGPT ads” |
|
7 May 2026 |
Plans announced to pilot in the UK, Mexico, Brazil, Japan and South Korea |
“Testing ads in ChatGPT”, update note |
|
11 August 2026 |
Those five markets confirmed live |
Same post, update note |
|
September 2026 |
Self-serve access extends across India, Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. OpenAI reports ChatGPT Ads passed a 1 billion US dollar annualised revenue run rate in under 200 days |
openai.com, “A milestone in expanding access to AI” |
That post adds that ChatGPT Ads are “available in over 40 countries through the OpenAI Ads Solutions team and our agency and technology partners”, wider than the self-service list, and that the next phase brings more markets, formats, objectives, buying options and measurement. Southeast Asia is not named.
Who sees the ads
From OpenAI’s help centre article “Ads in ChatGPT”, reviewed 19 September 2026:
- Ads may appear for users on the Free and Go plans.
- Plus, Pro, Business, Enterprise and Edu accounts will not have ads.
- No ads for accounts identified as under 18, using account-level age information and age prediction.
- During the test, ads do not appear in the ChatGPT Atlas browser.
- Personalised ads were not initially available in the European Economic Area or Switzerland.
The buyers you most want are usually on Plus, Pro or Business.
Are they labelled
Yes. OpenAI states that ads “can appear below the end of a response”, are “clearly labeled as sponsored and visually separated from ChatGPT’s response”, and that “ads do not influence ChatGPT’s answers”. Its ad policies page adds an interface-imitation rule: ads mimicking the appearance, functionality or voice of ChatGPT may be removed.
Formats and placements
From OpenAI’s help centre and developer docs, read 19 September 2026.
|
Format |
What it contains |
Where it sits |
Status |
|
Standard ad unit (chat_card in the API) |
Advertiser name, favicon, title, copy, landing page, image |
Below a ChatGPT response |
Generally available |
|
Product ad from a feed |
Product card drawn from an uploaded catalogue, with price and details |
Below a ChatGPT response |
Generally available via product feeds |
|
Multi-product carousel |
Several items from one advertiser, or multiple advertisers, in one unit |
Below a ChatGPT response |
In testing, per third party reporting of OpenAI’s advertiser emails |
|
Sponsored Agent |
Opens a branded conversation inside ChatGPT instead of sending the user to your site |
Inside ChatGPT |
Limited pilot reported on 14 September 2026, with Wayfair named as a tester |
Creative specifications from OpenAI’s developer docs:
|
Element |
Requirement |
|
Title |
3 to 50 characters |
|
Body copy |
100 characters maximum |
|
Creative image |
JPEG, PNG or WebP, at least 640 by 640 pixels |
|
Advertiser icon |
JPEG, PNG or WebP, at least 256 by 256 pixels |
|
Destination URL |
HTTP or HTTPS, 2,048 characters maximum, reachable by OpenAI’s ad crawlers |
|
Tracking |
A query string template such as utm_source=openai&utm_medium=paid&utm_campaign={campaign_id}&utm_content={ad_id} can be set at campaign, ad group or ad level |
How assistant ads differ from search ads
There is no keyword. Targeting runs on context hints, a free-text ad-group field describing where your product may be relevant. OpenAI says hints “are not exact-match keywords and do not guarantee delivery in specific conversations”.
One answer, not ten links. One passage, one ad unit below it, no page two. People state budget, constraints and timeline in the same message, which is why OpenAI sells “moments of real intent”.
There is no query report. Reporting stops at the click; you never see what triggered your ad.
The auction is relevance-weighted. OpenAI describes a “relevance-weighted, second-price auction” fed by context hints, landing page, title and copy. Our comparison of SEO and PPC covers the older trade-off.
Can a Malaysian business buy ChatGPT ads?
Not through self-service, as of 19 September 2026. OpenAI’s Ads Manager availability list names 56 countries, including Australia, India, Japan, Korea, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom and most of Europe. Malaysia is not listed, and neither is Singapore, Thailand, Indonesia, the Philippines or Vietnam. The page states: “To use self-service Ads Manager, the legal entity that will advertise and be billed must be based in a country listed as available below.”
Its account setup article adds that access follows the advertiser country chosen at setup, that “the country associated with your ChatGPT login or account registration does not override it”, and that such an account cannot be used until Ads Manager arrives. Country, billing currency and time zone are fixed at creation.
Three routes that remain open
|
Route |
What it involves |
Honest assessment |
|
Register interest |
Create an account at ads.openai.com, be notified when Malaysia opens |
Free. Do this now |
|
Managed or agency buy |
OpenAI directs larger advertisers to its Ads team. Agency partners named in its May 2026 post include Dentsu, Omnicom, Publicis and WPP, with technology partners including Adobe, Criteo, Kargo, Pacvue and StackAdapt |
Realistic for brands with substantial budget, not for an SME |
|
Buy through a group entity in an available country |
An Australian, Indian, Japanese, UK or UAE legal entity in your group can hold the ad account |
Only if the entity is genuine. Identity, billing and tax details are verified; duplicate applications slow review |
Third-party documentation maintained by a US agency, updated 17 September 2026, lists Malaysia among the countries ChatGPT campaigns can target, alongside Singapore, Thailand, Indonesia, the Philippines, Vietnam and Taiwan. We could not verify this against OpenAI’s own location catalogue, which sits behind an advertiser login. Malaysian users are probably reachable while Malaysian companies cannot do the reaching.
What it would cost
OpenAI publishes no minimum spend on any page we read. It does publish:
- A recommended starting maximum bid of 3 to 5 US dollars per click for CPC campaigns.
- Three objectives: Views (impression billing), Clicks and Conversions. Conversion campaigns with click billing charge for valid clicks, not conversions.
- Bid strategies of fixed bid, maximise clicks and maximise conversions.
- Daily budgets as a seven-day average: daily spend can reach twice the daily budget, and seven-day spend will not exceed seven times it.
- A new-advertiser offer of 500 US dollars in credit after spending 500 US dollars.
The third-party guide above reports a 25 US dollar minimum daily budget and a 1 US dollar minimum campaign budget, which OpenAI’s pages do not state, so treat them as unconfirmed. At the recommended bid, 100 clicks costs 300 to 500 US dollars, around RM1,300 to RM2,200 at the September 2026 rate.
Which categories are allowed
OpenAI’s ad policies page limits the programme to consumer verticals during the initial test period: lifestyle and household goods, local services, travel and experiences, and digital products or education. Financial services, healthcare and medicine, and legal services may be approved case by case with proof of licensure. Two lines matter here:
“Ads for financial services outside the US are generally prohibited.”
“Ads for health services outside the US are generally prohibited.”
Disallowed categories include adult content, dating, alcohol above 0.5% ABV, tobacco and vaping, counterfeit goods, gambling, political content and health claims. Malaysian clinics, moneylenders, insurance agencies and law firms should assume ChatGPT ads are closed for now.
Paid AI surfaces a Malaysian advertiser can use today
Checked 19 September 2026 against vendor pages; unconfirmed items are marked.
|
Surface |
Available to a Malaysian advertiser? |
How you buy |
Opt in or automatic |
Reporting split |
Verified from |
|
ChatGPT Ads (self-service) |
No. Malaysia absent from OpenAI’s Ads Manager availability list |
Not available |
n/a |
Impressions, clicks, spend, CTR, avg CPC, avg CPM, conversions |
OpenAI help centre |
|
ChatGPT Ads (managed or partner) |
Possible for large advertisers via OpenAI’s Ads team or agency partners |
Contact form on ads.openai.com |
n/a |
As above |
OpenAI help centre and newsroom |
|
Google Ads in AI Overviews |
Yes. Malaysia named in Google’s country list, mobile and desktop, English queries |
Existing Search, Shopping and Performance Max campaigns |
Automatic. You cannot target the placement or opt out |
None. Reported as Top Ads with no segment |
Google Ads Help, “About ads and AI Overviews” |
|
Google Ads in AI Mode |
No Google statement supports Malaysia. Google says it is testing in the US |
n/a |
Not stated |
Not stated |
Google Ads Help and blog.google, 20 May 2026 |
|
Microsoft Copilot |
Yes. MYR is a supported account currency and Malaysia is a targetable location |
Existing Microsoft Advertising campaigns |
Automatic. “Advertisers cannot opt out of serving ads” in Copilot |
None. “Microsoft Advertising does not currently support specific metrics for ads served in Copilot” |
Microsoft Learn, updated 2 September 2026 |
|
Perplexity |
No product to buy. Stopped accepting new advertisers October 2025, exited in-chat ads February 2026 |
n/a |
n/a |
n/a |
Trade press, February 2026. Perplexity’s own pages were unreachable |
Google AI Overviews ads
Google’s help page “About ads and AI Overviews” lists availability in English on mobile and desktop in Australia, Canada, India, Indonesia, Kenya, Malaysia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Pakistan, the Philippines, Singapore and the US. Text and Shopping ads from existing Search, Shopping and Performance Max campaigns are eligible within the AI Overview; ads above or below one are eligible wherever AI Overviews run. You cannot target the placement or opt out, and there is no segmented reporting: “Google Ads currently doesn’t offer segmented reporting when ads show within Search AI Overviews.” Sensitive verticals such as adult, alcohol, gambling, finance, healthcare and politics are excluded.
Google’s guidance points to broad match and keywordless targeting, so an account built on tight exact-match ad groups is largely invisible here. Our Google Ads services team restructures accounts for it; see also types of Google Ads campaigns and Google Ads pricing in Malaysia.
Microsoft Copilot ads
Microsoft’s documentation, updated 2 September 2026, states that “all eligible campaign and ad types are automatically opted in to serving in Copilot” and that there is “no guarantee that their ads will be displayed”. Eligible types are Multimedia ads, Product ads (including Shopping and Performance Max), Search ads carrying a logo extension or business logo automated extension, and the vertical formats for property promotion and tours and activities. The logo is a hard gate: “Search ads must include a logo to be eligible to show in Copilot.” Microsoft names Performance Max as the best route to Copilot exposure, and negative keywords apply as on Bing.
Its currency documentation lists Malaysian Ringgit with a minimum bid of MYR0.01, a minimum daily budget of MYR0.15 and a minimum monthly budget of MYR15.00, and Malaysia appears in the geographical location codes.
One caveat: we could not verify the on-screen label wording for Copilot ads from any Microsoft-owned page. Claims of a “Sponsored” label trace to agency blogs.
Why Perplexity is off the list
Perplexity launched sponsored follow-up questions in November 2024 with CPMs reported above 50 US dollars and a US-only rollout, stopped accepting new advertisers in October 2025, and retreated fully from in-chat ads in February 2026, an executive saying a user “would simply start to doubt everything”. Its publisher programme continues, funded by Comet Plus.
What to prepare now
- Be findable in the answer itself: how to get cited by AI, answer engine optimisation, GEO vs SEO.
- Fix your structured data. Organization, LocalBusiness, Product with price and availability, FAQPage, prices matching the page.
- Build a citation and review footprint. Accurate listings, a maintained Google Business Profile, reviews naming specific services.
- Clean your product feed. Brand and model first in titles, accurate GTINs, stock status, MYR prices.
- Prepare short creative. Headlines under 50 characters, descriptions under 100, in English.
- Make the landing page hold up. Answer “why you” in the first screen: landing page optimisation.
- Check eligibility and tracking. Entity country, category policy, GA4 readiness.
Our search marketing team can take the paid side while our GEO team handles visibility.
Measurement: tracking assistant traffic in GA4
GA4 has a native AI Assistant channel. Google’s release notes dated 13 May 2026 describe an ai-assistant medium assigned automatically when the referrer matches a recognised AI assistant, visits grouped under an “AI Assistant” channel, and the campaign set to (ai-assistant). No setup is required.
One trap. The channel definition “excludes Google’s AI Overviews and AI Mode”. Those clicks land in Organic Search, so the channel understates AI-influenced traffic.
Referral sources to watch. Google’s custom channel group guidance names ChatGPT, Gemini, Microsoft Copilot, Claude and Perplexity, and publishes a suggested regex. Hostnames seen in Malaysian GA4 properties:
|
Source |
Assistant |
|
chatgpt.com |
ChatGPT |
|
perplexity.ai |
Perplexity |
|
copilot.microsoft.com |
Microsoft Copilot |
|
gemini.google.com |
Gemini |
|
claude.ai |
Claude |
UTM parameters from ChatGPT. Since June 2025, ChatGPT has attached utm_source=chatgpt to more of the links it surfaces, including the “More” section that previously produced untagged direct traffic. Dated reporting confirms the parameter without the domain suffix, while most practitioners observe the chatgpt.com variant, so match on a partial string.
Search Console covers Google’s AI surfaces separately. Generative AI performance reports were announced on 3 June 2026 and rolled out to all sites worldwide on 31 August 2026, with two limits: impressions only, no clicks, CTR or position, and AI Overviews combined with AI Mode. See tracking traffic from AI Overviews and AI Overview citations.
Gaps you cannot close. Someone who reads an assistant’s answer then searches your brand is recorded as brand search, and mobile app referrals are unreliable everywhere, so add a “how did you hear about us?” field to your enquiry form. If GA4 itself is not clean, start with setting up Google Analytics 4.
Budget planning
No Malaysian advertiser can buy ChatGPT ads yet, so no credible cost per lead exists. Plan the shape of the budget instead of the figure.
|
Question |
How to answer it |
|
What can I afford per click? |
Close rate times average order value, divided by an acceptable cost per acquisition, then by landing page conversion rate |
|
What is a plausible entry point? |
The recommended 3 to 5 US dollars per click, times the clicks you need for a conclusion. Budget the test, not the year |
|
How many clicks before I learn anything? |
For most B2B advertisers, a few hundred |
|
Where should the money go meanwhile? |
Google Ads restructured for broad and keywordless matching, plus the organic work above |
|
What should I not do? |
Move budget out of channels that currently convert |
Risks to weigh
Brand safety. OpenAI keeps ads away from sensitive conversations and brand-unsafe contexts, but there is no placement list, no site exclusions and no post-buy verification. On Copilot, negative keywords are your only lever.
Disclosure and Malaysian advertising rules. OpenAI marks its ads as sponsored, and Google uses a “Sponsored” label in AI Overviews. Under the Malaysian Code of Advertising Practice, 6th Edition 2021, clause 20.1, “advertisements should be clearly distinguishable as such, whatever their form and whatever the medium used”. The Code is administered by Advertising Standards Malaysia and covers print, outdoor and cinema; online services fall under codes administered by the Communications and Multimedia Content Forum of Malaysia. The platform controls the label, so your duty is the creative.
PDPA and any data you pass. OpenAI’s custom audiences accept email addresses, phone numbers, their hashed variants and Google Advertising IDs, with inclusion audiences requiring at least 25,000 matched users. Uploading a Malaysian customer list overseas is a cross-border transfer of personal data. Malaysia’s Personal Data Protection Commissioner issued Guidelines on Cross Border Personal Data Transfer on 29 April 2025, clarifying the amended section 129 of the PDPA: transfers are permitted where the receiving jurisdiction has substantially similar laws or an adequate level of protection, or where a section 129(3) exception applies. The Personal Data Protection (Amendment) Act 2024, in force in phases between January and June 2025, raised the maximum fine to RM1,000,000, brought data processors under the Security Principle, and introduced data protection officer and breach notification duties. Take advice first: making your website PDPA compliant.
Reputational risk. Assistants misstate prices and service scope, and an ad beneath an inaccurate answer looks like an endorsement. Monitoring what assistants say about your brand is part of our GEO services; local firms doing this work are compared in AI SEO agencies in Malaysia.
Platform volatility. Perplexity built an ads business and shut it, and OpenAI has changed formats, bidding models and availability repeatedly in seven months.
Frequently asked questions
Can I advertise on ChatGPT from Malaysia?
Not through self-service, as of 19 September 2026. OpenAI’s Ads Manager availability list does not include Malaysia, and its help centre states the legal entity that advertises and is billed must be based in a listed country. You can create an account and be notified when Malaysia opens, and larger advertisers can ask OpenAI’s Ads team about managed support.
How much do ChatGPT ads cost?
OpenAI does not publish a minimum spend. It recommends a starting maximum bid of 3 to 5 US dollars per click for CPC campaigns and supports impression, click and conversion objectives. Daily budgets work as a seven-day average, so daily spend can reach twice the budget on a given day while seven-day spend stays within seven times it.
Who sees ads in ChatGPT?
Users on the Free and Go plans. OpenAI confirms that Plus, Pro, Business, Enterprise and Edu accounts do not see ads, and that accounts identified as belonging to people under 18 are excluded.
Do ChatGPT ads change the answer I get?
No. OpenAI states that ads run on separate systems from the chat model, that advertisers cannot shape, rank or alter responses, and that ads are clearly labelled as sponsored and visually separated from the answer.
What do ChatGPT ads look like?
The standard unit shows the advertiser name, a favicon, a title, description copy, an image and a landing page, below a ChatGPT response. Product-feed campaigns produce product cards. A multi-product carousel is in testing, and a Sponsored Agent format that opens a branded conversation inside ChatGPT entered a limited pilot in September 2026.
Can I already advertise on any AI surface from Malaysia?
Yes, two. Ads in Google’s AI Overviews are available in Malaysia on mobile and desktop for English queries, serving automatically from Search, Shopping and Performance Max campaigns. Microsoft Copilot serves ads automatically from eligible Microsoft Advertising campaigns, with Malaysian Ringgit a supported account currency. Neither offers a separate reporting breakout.
Can I advertise on Perplexity?
No. Perplexity stopped accepting new advertisers in October 2025 and announced a full retreat from in-chat advertising in February 2026. Guides published in 2026 that still list Perplexity ad packages are out of date.
How do I track traffic from ChatGPT in GA4?
GA4 has assigned a native ai-assistant medium and an AI Assistant channel automatically since 13 May 2026. Add a custom channel group to separate ChatGPT, Gemini, Copilot, Claude and Perplexity. Google excludes its own AI Overviews and AI Mode from that channel, so those clicks appear under Organic Search.
The bottom line
ChatGPT advertising is a real platform with real revenue and real restrictions, and from a Malaysian address it is closed. Two AI ad surfaces already serve Malaysian advertisers automatically, and most businesses are not structured to benefit from either. The work that makes a paid slot worth buying, appearing in the answer above it, takes months and pays off either way.
Want a clear view of where you stand across AI search and paid AI surfaces? Request a quote from our GEO team, or ask about our free website and AI visibility audit worth RM300.




